Record Nr. UNINA9910814541403321 New directions and paradigms for the study of Greek architecture : **Titolo** interdisciplinary dialogues in the field / / edited by Philip Sapirstein. David Scahill Leiden Boston:,: BRILL,, 2020 Pubbl/distr/stampa **ISBN** 90-04-41665-X 1 online resource (348 pages) Descrizione fisica Monumenta Graeca et Romana: : volume 25 Collana Disciplina 720.9495 Soggetti Architecture, Greek Lingua di pubblicazione Inglese **Formato** Materiale a stampa Livello bibliografico Monografia Nota di bibliografia Includes bibliographical references and index. Nota di contenuto The Parthenon's north colonnade: comments on its construction / Lena Lambrinou, PhD -- Early temples built of wood and stone: new finds from Kalapodi (Phokis) / Nils Hellner -- Old questions and new approaches: the significance of affinities between the tectonic arts and the technical arts of ancient Greece / Mark Wilson Jones -- New architectural work on the acropolis of Selinunte, Sicily: towards a digital platform for cultural heritage / Clemente Marconi, David Scahill, and Massimo Limoncelli. "New Directions and Paradigms for the Study of Greek Architecture Sommario/riassunto comprises 20 chapters by nearly three dozen scholars who describe recent discoveries, new theoretical frameworks, and applications of cutting-edge techniques in their architectural research. The contributions are united by several broad themes that represent the current directions of study in the field, i.e.: the organization and techniques used by ancient Greek builders and designers: the use and life history of Greek monuments over time; the communication of ancient monuments with their intended audiences together with their reception by later viewers; the mining of large sets of architectural data for socio-economic inference; and the recreation and simulation of audio-visual experiences of ancient monuments and sites by means of digital technologies. Contributors are: Lena Lambrinou; Vasileia

Manidaki; Jeanne Capelle; Alexander Tanner; Nancy L. Klein; Nils Hellner; D. Matthew Buell, John C. McEnroe, Jorge Andreas Botero

Besadalombana, Rafa Bienkowski; Yannos Kourayos, Kornilia Daifa, Goulielmos Orestidis, Dimitrios Egglezos, Vasilis Papavasileiou, Eleni-Eva Toumpakari; Kyle A. Jazwa; Andras Patay-Horvath; Mark Wilson Jones; Silke Muth; Sarah A. Rous; Matthias Grawehr; Mary B. Hollinshead; Miriam G. Clinton, Ansel MacLaughlin; Christian Fron, Verena Stappmanns, Xiaoru Zhou, Philip Leistner; Clemente Marconi, David Scahill, Massimo Limoncelli; Bonna D. Wescoat".