Record Nr. UNINA9910813710403321 State of the union: presidential rhetoric from Woodrow Wilson to Titolo George W. Bush / / edited by Deborah Kalb, Gerhard Peters and John T. Woolley Washington, D.C., : CQ Press, c2007 Pubbl/distr/stampa Washington, D.C.:,: CQ Press,, 2007 **ISBN** 1-78034-895-9 1-4522-6738-3 1-60426-400-4 Descrizione fisica 1 online resource (xii, 1185 pages): illustrations Collana Gale eBooks Disciplina 352.2380973 Soggetti Presidents - United States Rhetoric - Political aspects - History - 20th century Rhetoric - Political aspects - History - 21st century Speeches, addresses, etc., American United States Politics and government 20th century Sources United States Politics and government 2001 Sources Lingua di pubblicazione Inglese **Formato** Materiale a stampa Livello bibliografico Monografia Description based upon print version of record. Note generali Nota di bibliografia Includes bibliographical references and index. Nota di contenuto Half Title; Title Page; Copyright; Contents; Preface; The State of the Union Address and the Rise of Rhetorical Leadership; Woodrow Wilson; Warren G. Harding; Calvin Coolidge; Herbert Hoover; Franklin D. Roosevelt; Harry S. Truman; Dwight D. Eisenhower; John F. Kennedy; Lyndon B. Johnson; Richard Nixon; Gerald R. Ford; Jimmy Carter; Ronald Reagan; George H.W. Bush; William J. Clinton; George W. Bush; Appendix; Woodrow Wilson's Address to a Joint Session of Congress on Tariff Reform April 8, 1913; Franklin D. Roosevelt's Inaugural Address March 4, 1933 Ronald Reagan's Inaugural Address January 20, 1981Opposition Responses to State of the Union Speeches, 1966-2006; State of the Union Gallery Visitors, 1982-2006; President's Annual Messages to Congress, 1790-1913; Captions and Credits; Index

Sommario/riassunto

This book explores ways in which modern U.S. presidents have appealed directly to the public and how the public has responded. It is a comprehensive reference work containing all the state of the union addresses - as well as each inaugural address - delivered from Woodrow Wilson to George W. Bush.