Record Nr. UNINA9910810294303321 Autore Hartenstein Friedhelm Titolo Farewell to the Priestly Writing? the Current State of the Debate Pubbl/distr/stampa Atlanta:,: Society of Biblical Literature,, 2019 ©2020 **ISBN** 0-88414-422-4 Edizione [1st ed.] Descrizione fisica 1 online resource (297 pages) Collana Ancient Israel and Its Literature;; v.38 Altri autori (Persone) SchmidKonrad Soggetti P document (Biblical criticism) Documentary hypothesis (Pentateuchal criticism) Criticism, interpretation, etc. Lingua di pubblicazione Inglese **Formato** Materiale a stampa Monografia Livello bibliografico Nota di contenuto The priestly writing as a source: A recollection / Christoph Levin --Once again: The literary-historical profile of the P tradition / Erhard Blum -- Genesis 5: Priestly redaction, composition, or source? / Jan Christian Gertz -- The literary character of the priestly portions of the Exodus narrative (Exod 1-14) / Christoph Berner -- From the call of Moses to the parting of the sea: Reflections on the priestly version of the Exodus Narrative / Thomas Romer -- The priestly writing and Deuteronomy in the Book of Leviticus: On the integration of Deuteronomy in the Pentateuch / Eckart Otto -- The holiness legislation and the Pentateuch: Tradition- and composition-historical aspects of Leviticus 26 / Christophe Nihan. In discussions of the origin of the Pentateuch, the Priestly source Sommario/riassunto traditionally constitutes an undisputed reference point for different source-critical models, and it is the only literary layer with concise terminology and a theological conception that can be extracted from a non-Priestly context. This English translation of Abschied von der Priesterschrift? Zum Stand der Pentateuchdebatte revisits the scholarly debate surrounding the Documentary Hypothesis and the so-called Priestly material's position either as an independent written source or as a redaction within the books of Genesis through Deuteronomy.

Contributors include Christoph Berner, Erhard Blum, Jan Christian

Gertz, Christoph Levin, Eckart Otto, Christophe Nihan, and Thomas Romer.