. Record Nr.	UNINA9910455420203321
Autore	Kathrada A. M (Ahmad M.)
Titolo	Letters from Robben Island [[electronic resource]] : a selection of Ahmed Kathrada's prison correspondence, 1964-1989 / / edited by Robert D. Vassen ; foreword by Nelson Mandela ; introduction by Walter Sisulu
Pubbl/distr/stampa	Cape Town, South Africa, : Mayibuye Books in association with the Robben Island Museum East Lansing, : Michigan State University Press, c1999
ISBN	1-62895-091-9 0-87013-931-2 0-585-18810-6
Descrizione fisica	1 online resource (304 p.)
Collana	Mayibuye history and literature series ; ; no. 92
Altri autori (Persone)	VassenRobert <1937-> SisuluWalter MandelaNelson <1918-2013.>
Disciplina	323/.092 B
Soggetti	Political prisoners - South Africa Electronic books. South Africa Politics and government 1948-1994
Lingua di pubblicazione	Inglese
Formato	Materiale a stampa
Livello bibliografico	Monografia
Note generali	Description based upon print version of record.
Nota di contenuto	Contents; Foreword; Acknowledgments; Introduction; Editor's Note; About Ahmed Kathrada; The Letters; 1964-1970; Sylvia Neame, February or March 1964; Sylvia Neame, February or March 1964; Sylvia Neame, May 1964; Sylvia Neame, 9 June 1964; Sylvia Neame, 11 June 1964; Ahmed Kola, 30 August 1964; Kathrada Family, 18 October 1964; Kathrada Family, 24 December 1967; Essop Pahad, 3 April 1968; Goolam Hoosenbhai, 29 December 1968; Sylvia Neame, between 11-31 December 1970; 1971-1980; Solly Kathrada, 26 March 1972; Zivia Shaban, 12 May 1973; Mrs. Neville Alexander, 16 February 1975 Sonia Bunting, 16 February 1975Choti and Ismail, 28 March 1975; Ruth and Ilse Fischer, 11 May 1975; Raman Chiba, 20 September 1975; George Peake, 22 November 1975; Tom Vassen, 22 November 1975;

1.

Sommario/riassunto Late one night in July, 1963, a South African police unit surrounded the African National Congress headquarters in Rivonia and arrested a group of Movement leaders gathered inside. Eventually eight of them, including Nelson Mandela, who was already serving a sentence, Walter Sisulu, Dennis Goldberg, Govan Mbeki, Raymond Mhlaba, Elias Motsoledi, Andrew Mangeni, and Ahmed Kathrada, were convicted of sabotage and, on June 12, 1964, sentenced to life in prison. Soon, these men became widely known as the ""Rivonia Trialists."" Despite their imprisonment, the Trialists played active roles in the		Rooki Saloojee, 24 December 1976; Sukhthi Naidoo, 25 January 1976; Sukhthi Naidoo, 28 August 1976; Zohra Kathrada, 25 February 1978; Dasoo lyer, Easter, 1978; Tom Vassen, 17 June 1978; Zohra Kathrada, 24 June 1978; Tom and Bob Vassen, 25 July 1978; Zohra Kathrada, 25 November 1978; Bob Vassen, 21 April 1979; Poppy Kola, 19 May 1979; Aadil Jassat, 28 July 1979; Dasoo lyer, 17 November 1979 Head of Robben Island Prison, 24 November 1979Shamima Kola, 15 December 1979; Zohra Kathrada, 22 December 1979; Bob Vassen, 19 January 1980; Dr. Karim, 14 June and 30 July 1980; Aziz Kathrada, 19 July 1980; Farida and Ahmed Bhoola, 20 September 1980; Shamima and Neelan Poonen, 4 October 1980; Djamilla Cajee, 25 October 1980; 1981-1989; Tahera Kola, 14 February 1981; Dasoo lyer, 28 March 1981; Dr. Karim, 24 October 1981; Zohra Kathrada, 17 July 1982; Zohra Kathrada, 21 October 1982; Bob Vassen, 29 January 1983; Mammie Seedat, 29 May 1983; Roshan Dadoo, 1 October 1983 Zohrabibi Kathrada, 5 November 1983Shireen Patel, 28 January 1984; Zeenat Cajee, 27 May 1984; Essop Jassat, 15 July 1984; Leila Issel, 1 December 1984; P. W. Botha, 13 February 1985; Helen Joseph, 17 March 1985; Navi Joseph, 23 March 1985; Dullah Omar, 31 May 1985; Essop Jassat, 2 June 1985; Farieda Omar, 1 September 1985; Nazir Kathrada, 26 October 1986; Wilfred Kodesh, 14 November 1986; Helen Joseph, 30 November 1986; Enver Bharoochi, 14 December 1986; Helen Joseph, 30 November 1986; Civer Tambo, Sometime in 1988; Sonia Bunting, 13 March 1988; Zohra Kathrada, 12 June 1988; Zuleikha Mayat, 2 July 1988; J. N. and Radhie Singh, 16 September 1988; Zohrabibi Kathrada, 19 September 1988; Fati and Kader, 14 January 1989; Zuleikha Mayat, 25 March 1988; Mohamed, 16 April 1989; Patricia Long, 13 May 1989; Marie Kola, 19 July 1989; Navi Joseph, 3 October 1989
	Sommario/riassunto	African National Congress headquarters in Rivonia and arrested a group of Movement leaders gathered inside. Eventually eight of them, including Nelson Mandela, who was already serving a sentence, Walter Sisulu, Dennis Goldberg, Govan Mbeki, Raymond Mhlaba, Elias Motsoledi, Andrew Mangeni, and Ahmed Kathrada, were convicted of sabotage and, on June 12, 1964, sentenced to life in prison. Soon, these men became widely known as the ""Rivonia Trialists."" Despite