Record Nr.	UNINA9910338259403321
Titolo	The Abel Prize 2013-2017 / / edited by Helge Holden, Ragni Piene
Pubbl/distr/stampa	Cham : , : Springer International Publishing : , : Imprint : Springer, , 2019
ISBN	3-319-99028-4
Edizione	[1st ed. 2019.]
Descrizione fisica	1 online resource (xi, 774 pages) : illustrations
Collana	The Abel Prize, , 2661-829X
Disciplina	510.79
Soggetti	Algebra
	Mathematical analysis
	Analysis (Mathematics)
	Applied mathematics
	Engineering mathematics
	Mathematical physics
	Statistical physics
	Mathematics
	History
	Analysis
	Applications of Mathematics
	Mathematical Physics
	Statistical Physics and Dynamical Systems
	History of Mathematical Sciences
Lingua di pubblicazione	Inglese
Formato	Materiale a stampa
Livello bibliografico	Monografia
Nota di contenuto	Preface 2013 Pierre Deligne 2014 Yakov G. Sinai 2015 John Nash Jr and Louis Nirenberg 2016 Sir Andrew Wiles 2017 Yves Meyer Abel Activities Abel Prize Citations 2003-2012 The Abel Committee The Niels Henrik Abel Board The Abel Lectures 2013- 2017 The Abel Laureate Presenters The Interviews with the Abel Laureates Addenda, Errata and Updates.
Sommario/riassunto	The book presents the winners of the Abel Prize in mathematics for the period 2013–17: Pierre Deligne (2013); Yakov G. Sinai (2014); John Nash Jr. and Louis Nirenberg (2015); Sir Andrew Wiles (2016); and Yves

1.

Meyer (2017). The profiles feature autobiographical information as well as a scholarly description of each mathematician's work. In addition, each profile contains a Curriculum Vitae, a complete bibliography, and the full citation from the prize committee. The book also includes photos for the period 2003–2017 showing many of the additional activities connected with the Abel Prize. As an added feature, video interviews with the Laureates as well as videos from the prize ceremony are provided at an accompanying website (http://extras.springer. com/). This book follows on The Abel Prize: 2003-2007. The First Five Years (Springer, 2010) and The Abel Prize 2008-2012 (Springer 2014), which profile the work of the previous Abel Prize winners.